Training Structure

Training Structure

The route to higher training in Acute Medicine is usually via either core medical training (CMT) or acute care common stem (ACCS) training. These programmes give trainees a solid grounding in the medical or acute specialties. Click here to read more about CMT and ACCS .

Higher Acute Medicine training is a four-year programme from ST3 level, which, once successfully completed, leads to a CCT in Acute Internal Medicine. Some trainees will choose to dual accredit in both AIM and General Internal Medicine (GIM), which will add about one year to the training time for full-time trainees. The figures below (taken from the AIM 2009 curriculum) illustrate the training pathway.

Diagram 1.0 shows the training pathway for Acute Internal Medicine

Figure 1: Training in Acute Medicine alone


Figure 2: Dual CCT with GIM

During higher training, registrars will gain experience not only in Acute Medicine, but also in other relevant specialties. These include some of the more “acute” medical specialties (such as Cardiology, Respiratory Medicine and Medicine for the Elderly), and also critical care specialties (Intensive Care Medicine and occasionally Anaesthetics). More information about what to expect from higher training can be found in the AIM 2009 curriculum.

Share this article: