SAM Council Members


Nick Scriven

Nick Scriven has been a consultant in acute medicine at Halifax Hospital since 2001 and was appointed non-medical trainee representative on SAM’s council in April 2012. Nick was born and educated in Norwich and completed his studies at Leicester University. He then started working for the Nottingham registrar rotation for respiratory and general internal medicine. Nick is a keen Norwich City Football Club supporter and has a growing family with teenage children.

President Elect

Susan Crossland

Sue is an Acute Physician working at Calderdale Royal Hospital in Halifax. She has been a Consultant since 2012 and was the previous Treasurer for SAM. Her main interests are Education (she is the Director of Medical Education for her Trust) and Ambulatory Care.

Immediate Past President

Mark Holland

Mark was first appointed as  consultant geriatrician at University Hospital of South Manchester 1999 and commenced as a consultant acute physician in 2004. He was SAM Secretary from 2010 to 2013.
Mark’s main achievements for SAM include working with national encephalitis working group (guideline published 2012), working with NICE on neutropenic sepsis guideline (2012) and acute medicine CPD advisor with the Royal College of Physicians.
He has played pivotal role in setting-up the acute medicine training programme in the North Western Deanery and ran the programme from 2007 to 2012.


Hannah Skene

Hannah is an acute physician working at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London. Previously a trainee representative for SAM, she is delighted to be back with SAM as Secretary. As well as the daily clinical and service development work within acute and general medicine, Hannah has a MMedSci in medical education and a keen interest in developing and delivering high quality multidisciplinary simulation and clinical skills courses for acute teams.


Tim Cooksley

Biography coming soon!

Chair Education and Training Committee

Ben Chadwick

Biography coming soon!

Chair Research Committee

Louella Vaughan

Louella Vaughan is an active researcher in acute medicine. Previously Senior Lecturer in Acute Medicine with Imperial College London, her interests include the use of novel techniques for the risk stratification of the acutely unwell patient, medication safety and service improvement. She sits on the Society’s Research Committee and is the National Clinical Lead for the Hospital at Night e-learning for Health project.Louella is a consultant physician and honorary senior lecturer at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital.  She was appointment Chair of the Research Committee for the Society for Acute Medicine in October 2012.

Nursing Representatives

Ian Setchfield

Biography coming soon!

Sara Henry

Biography coming soon!

Pharmacy Representative

Runa Patel-Kumar

Biography coming soon!

Allied Health Professional Representative

Laura Jennings

Laura Jennings has been a physiotherapist for 21 years and a Clinical Lead Physiotherapist for Acute Medicine at Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Trust since 2005. She was appointed AHP Representative for the Council in February this year and is keen to encourage more AHP’s to be SAM members and promote the value of AHP’s in Acute Medicine.

Medical Trainee Representatives

Tehmeena Khan

Tehmeena is a final year trainee working in North East and Central London. Tehmeena’s interests include Leadership and Quality Improvement. She spent a year as a Darzi Fellow at a busy acute trust in London, increasing the QI capacity and capability.  During this time she completed a PG Certificate in Leadership in Health. Tehmeena has also undertaken the Winston Churchill Travelling Fellowship where she explored the role of Hospitalist Medicine in the USA.

Anika Wijewardane

Biography coming soon!

New Consultant Representative

Nick Smallwood

Nick is a Consultant in Acute Medicine working at East Surrey Hospital. He was previously a SAM Trainee Representative and is passionate about improving Acute Medicine training and developing the specialty. His particular interest is in point of care ultrasound and has been part of the working group developing Focused Acute Medicine Ultrasound (FAMUS).


Regional Representatives

England – Dr Andy Walden

N Ireland – Dr Ian Wallace

Scotland – Dr Dan Beckett

Wales – Dr Chris Hodcroft

Website Lead

Nithin Narayan


Share this article: